First Oath

(adapted from the First Oath in ADF’s “Our Own Druidry”)

I come before the ancestors,
the land spirits, and the gods
to declare myself a Pagan.
I am a seeker of the Old Ways,
a worshipper of the Elder Gods.

With this sacred oath
I set my foot upon the path, the Druid’s Way,
for I seek a relationship with the Kindreds
and I am cultivating the the practice of living fully.

I vow to seek virtue in my life,
to do right by my kin, my friends, my community, and myself.
I vow to make my spirituality real
by keeping the rites and workings that call to me.

I vow to deepen my understanding of the Old Ways
through study and practice
to fill myself with the truth of the Elder Path.

These things I vow to myself
in the presence of the ancestors,
in the presence of the land spirits,
in the presence of the gods and goddesses,
and my Exalted Brighid.

So be it!

2 thoughts on “First Oath

Leave a Reply

