A Sonnet for the Fool

I used to keep a blog for poetry, but I think instead of restarting that I’m going to merge that with my spirituality blog. Poetry and music are very powerful spiritual influences for me, so it seems silly to separate them.

I cross-posted this on my Tarot blog (which had a long hiatus), but I wanted the poem here, too.

This card and its description remind me of a poem (a sonnet in iambic pentameter) that I wrote way back in my senior year of high school:

I stand upon the rough edge of the peak,
The rock cuts into my bare feet, fragile.
Above, through lowly clouds, I wish to seek
A thing that, when I see, will make me smile.

The ocean roars, and now my trembling knees
Do threaten to undo themselves, and I
Will fall into the merciless, foul seas,
And that much further I’ll be from the sky.

But what will happen when I leap in faith?
Will wings of angels catch me ere I fall,
Or will the chains of earth be as a wraith
And curse me to a never-ending brawl?

I can’t resist the urge to leap, to try,
So powerfully I hear the call to fly.

Leave a Reply

