Samhain Greetings!

I always feel a little overwhelmed with the holidays, and thus haven’t always gone through with any sort of celebration. So instead of planning a ritual, I want to start with little traditions that are inclusive for all the non-Pagans in my life, like my husband and the rest of my family.

Here’s something I started this year and plan to continue in future years. I made and wrote little notes to those I’ve known who have passed away, or in some cases, grandparents I didn’t know but have heard so much about that I wish I had.

When I began, I asked my husband if he wanted to write anything. He declined, but then saw me preparing the final product, and said, “Well, I didn’t know you were going to light candles and do that!” Then he promptly got some paper and did the same, and said he looked forward to doing it with kids and possibly having extended family come for an evening to celebrate the same way. “I really like this,” he kept repeating.

I love beginnings.

3 thoughts on “Samhain Greetings!

  1. Pingback: Burying a Beloved Pet « The River Brighid

Leave a Reply

